Rufus Wainwright Tracks New Songs for Tenth Album at United Recording

Dec 16, 2019


Charismatic singer/songwriter Rufus Wainwright tracked new songs for his tenth album at United Recording. The album’s first single, “Trouble in Paradise,” which explores the fashion industry with applicable themes about the world at large, was released in October.

Wainwright collaborated with versatile producer Mitchell Froom, violinist/string arranger Rob Moose, and recording engineer David Boucher. A mixture of smart pop and heartbreaking lyricism, he proclaims on his website that the first single is “a nod to solid pop rock production of previous classic L.A. eras.”

“We chose United to record strings and horns for Rufus’ album, largely because of the exceptional equipment and the superb acoustics,” said Froom. “I’ve worked on projects over the course of many years at the studio and have always had great results.”

Praised by The New York Times for his “genuine originality,” Wainwright has established himself as one of the foremost male vocalists and songwriters of his generation. With ten albums and numerous tracks on compilations and film soundtracks, he has collaborated with musical heavyweights such as Elton John, David Byrne, Boy George, Joni Mitchell, Pet Shop Boys and producer Mark Ronson, among others.

“Trouble in Paradise” is currently available to stream on leading digital music services. To learn more about Wainwright, please visit:

Pictured L-R in United Recording’s Studio B are Rufus Wainwright, Mitchell Froom, violinist/arranger Rob Moose, and recording engineer David Boucher. Photo by David Goggin.