Local Natives Record “Sea of Years” for album “Sunlit Youth” at United


Pictured in United Recording Studio B are (L-R) Producer Brian Joseph, Nik Ewing, Matt Frazier, Taylor Rice, Ryan Hahn, and Kelcey Ayer. Photo & Interview by David Goggin.

Hollywood, CA, September 2016 – Popular indie rock band Local Natives recorded the enchanting “Sea of Years” for their third album, “Sunlit Youth,” at United Recording. Based in the Silverlake arts community, the band created the new album while touring and traveling, and stopped in at United’s venerable Studio B for the track. 

Produced by Brian Joseph, the band is comprised of Nik Ewing, bass; Matt Frazier, drums; Taylor Rice, guitar, vocals; Ryan Hahn, guitar, keyboards, mandolin, vocals; Kelcey Ayer, vocals, keyboards, percussion, guitar.

Their debut album, “Gorilla Manor,” debuted 2010 in Billboard at No. 3 in the New Artist Chart. In 2011, they embarked on a European tour as the opening act for Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros. Their second full-length album, “Hummingbird,” was released in 2013 and was produced by Aaron Dessner of The National.

In April 2016, Local Natives released the single "Past Lives" from the forthcoming album, saying, "The world is not static, it’s made new over and over again. But we tend to live the same patterns in a loop, loving the same way, wrestling the same demons, the same dynamics playing out around us again and again. But our world is not fixed, it’s constantly reemerging, and we can change it into whatever we want.” 


The second single, “Fountain of Youth,” was released in June. “Early on while we were working on the record, this song became something of a rallying cry for us, a call to keep us accountable to following our true inspirations and desires.”


“Sunset Youth” will be released September 9, 2016. A special bundle includes an exclusive album T-shirt, choice of the album on CD or Vinyl, and instant tracks upon order and as they become available. http://thelocalnatives.com/